In 2015, the US Supreme Court made marriage equality the law of the land. Dignity/San Diego can help you celebrate your special day. We are a Catholic Eucharistic Community and, as such, we celebrate sacramental and civil weddings. While same-sex sacramental weddings are not recognized by the church, we still are able to register you in our couples registry and perform the valid civil marriage for you.
Our policy on marriages follow the policies set in place by Dignity/San Diego, Dignity USA and the State of California. If there are any questions on the following guidelines, please ask a presider.
dignity marriage policy
- Both individuals shall be at least 18 years of age, the legal age of consent in California.
- Neither individual may be bound by a prior unresolved marriage, registered domestic partnership, civil union, covenant bond or similar relationship with a person other than the person they now intend to marry.
- At least one of the individuals shall be a baptized Catholic. Proof of Baptism can be obtained from the church or parish of Baptism, or be attested to be a witness or family member - in writing.
- Some program, formal or informal, will be required to insure that the couple is sufficiently prepared to enter into a life-long, covenant, marriage relationship. Sufficient time should be allowed for this preparation prior to a ceremony. Proof of completion will be required.
- Ideally, a couple shall have known each other long enough to experience their strengths and weaknesses; and to have shared expectectations and life values.
- Preparation begins with the couple approaching the Dignity Community Council or one of the Chapter Chaplains and arranging a meeting.
- The couple is responsible for arranging and contracting a place for the ceremony. This does include any financial requirements. This should be done in consultation with the individual chaplain who will be witnessing and celebrating the ceremony.
- It is the responsibility of the couple to obtain a Marriage License from the County Recorder's Office and have it available at the time of the ceremony. Two witnesses, in addition to the chaplain, will be required to sign the license. Both members of the couple must be present when obtaining a Marriage License. All licenses are valid for up to 90 days from date of issuance.
- A Marriage Certificate will be issued to the couple after the ceremony commerating the event and acknowledge recording of the ceremony in our records.